Wyoming Cowboys golf team will host 20 teams in 2019 Cowboy Classic

By  | 

Coming off a week with no tournament competition, the Wyoming Cowboy golf team will return to action on Monday and Tuesday, April 8-9 hosting their own Wyoming Cowboy Classic.

The tournament will be played at the Whirlwind Golf Club at Wild Horse Pass in Chandler, Ariz., and will feature 20 collegiate teams, along with select individuals from other programs.

A year ago, the Cowboys enjoyed an outstanding finish at the Cowboy Classic, placing third as a team in a 15-team field, and two Cowboys placed in the Top Five individually. Those two Cowboys were current UW senior John Murdock and former Cowboy Arron Lickteig, who both tied for third place at 209 (-7).

Wyoming Cowboy Classic Tournament Information
The week will begin with a practice round on Sunday, April 7. The tournament will feature 36 holes on Monday, April 8 followed by the final 18-hole round on Tuesday, April 9.

Of the teams competing in this year’s Cowboy Classic, the highest ranked teams according to the most recent Golfstat Rankings (April 2, 2019) are: UCLA (No. 39), Boise State (No. 63), Cal State Fullerton (No. 77) and Santa Clara (No. 78).

Wyoming Cowboy Classic Tournament Field
•20 Teams

•Boise State, Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Northridge, Gonzaga, Grand Canyon, Northern Colorado, Old Dominion, Santa Clara, Southern Utah, Stephen F. Austin, UC Davis, UCLA, UC Santa Barbara, UT Arlington, UT Rio Grande Valley, Utah State, Utah Valley, Weber State, Wichita State and Wyoming.

•Individuals also competing from: Arizona State, the University of Colorado and the University of Denver.

Tournament Stats
•Live scoring will be available at GolfStat.com. The live scoring link is: http://results.golfstat.com//public/leaderboards/gsnav.cfm?pg=participants&tid=15814

Course Information
•Whirlwind Golf Club at Wild Horse Pass, Chandler, Ariz.

•Tournament will be played on the Cattail Course at Whirlwind

•7,218 yards, Par 72

Tee Times
•Teams will tee off in a shotgun format at 7:30 a.m. local time in Arizona each day.