Registering your boat
Summer is here and life can be better on a boat. If you have a boat you need to register and aren't quite sure what to do here is the process to register your boat.
The process to register a boat depends on if it is new, or where it was registered before. You can register a boat in Wyoming for one or three years. Here is the process:
-Boats purchased in the last 30 days:
Owners can operate their boat on a notarized bill of sale for up to 30 days. For a new or transfer-of-ownership motorized watercraft, you will need to have a county-issued title in your name and proof that the Wyoming sales tax has been paid. You may be required to have a hull identification inspection done by a law enforcement officer to verify the Hull Identification Number (HIN). Once you have your title and proof of sales tax paperwork completed, you can register your boat at any Game and Fish office or through the mail with the proper paperwork and fees attached. Please be sure to allow 10 days from when you register your boat through the mail to receive your registration and decals.
-Boats registered in another state:
If your boat was previously registered in another state, you can present a title or watercraft registration in your name from the prior state at a Game and Fish office..
-Wyoming registration renewals
If your boat is currently registered in Wyoming, you can renew your registration at a Game and Fish Office, online or through the mail with the proper paperwork and fees attached. Please be sure to allow 10 days from when you register your boat online or through the mail to receive your registration and decals.
Most boats likely require an aquatic invasive species decal prior to launching. Refer to the watercraft regulations for more details. Be sure to register your boat and purchase your AIS decal early so you’re ready to enjoy the water.