Governow Mead announces drought disaster assistance for parts of Wyoming

Photo: MGN
Photo: MGN(WNDU)
Published: Jun. 30, 2016 at 6:07 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The US Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced Weston County has been granted a primary natural disaster designation due to ongoing drought.

Governor Matt Mead received a letter from USDA Secretary Thomas Vilsack outlining the designation. Producers in Campbell, Converse, Crook and Niobrara counties are also eligible for assistance as contiguous disaster areas.

“Weston, Crook and Niobrara Counties were not named in the original drought designation by the USDA. These counties are dry and the conditions are extreme. I have been working with the FSA, counties and ranchers,” Governor Mead said. “This designation by USDA will be a great help.”

“The severity of the drought is real,” said Wyoming Department of Agriculture Director Doug Miyamoto. “I appreciate the County Commissioners, the Governor, the Farm Service Agency, and the Department of Agriculture for their efforts.”

Earlier this month, the USDA declared Big Horn, Johnson, Sheridan and Washakie as primary disaster areas. Producers in those counties as well as Campbell, Converse, Fremont, Hot Springs, Natrona and Park may also be eligible for aid. Qualified producers in these counties can be considered for assistance, including emergency loans, from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA).

For more information, please visit your local FSA office or go to: