Disaster Assistance available for several Wyoming counties

Photo: MGN
Photo: MGN(WNDU)
Published: Oct. 7, 2016 at 6:13 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The US Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced Park County has been designated a primary natural disaster area due to drought.

Governor Matt Mead received a letter from USDA Secretary Thomas Vilsack notifying him of USDA’s decision. This announcement follows earlier primary disaster designations for Big Horn, Campbell, Crook, Johnson, Niobrara, Sheridan, Washakie and Weston counties.

Converse, Fremont, Goshen, Hot Springs, Natrona, Platte and Teton have been designated as contiguous counties.

“I am pleased to see that help will be available for the affected counties,” Governor Mead said. “This could be a great benefit for producers in those areas.”

Qualified producers in these counties can be considered for assistance, including emergency loans, from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA). For more information, please visit your local FSA office or go to: