Champions are crowned at the 2022 College National Finals Rodeo

Published: Jun. 19, 2022 at 1:32 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CASPER, Wyo. (Wyoming News Now) - Saturday was the final time for college cowboys and cowgirls to ride at the 2022 College National Finals Rodeo. The fields had been narrowed down to 12 in each event, and the pressure was on to perform in front of a packed house at the Ford Wyoming Center.

The pressure may have been too much for cowboys representing colleges from the Cowboy State. Casper College’s Linkyn Petersek entered the night second in tie down roping, and his teammates Kellan and Carson Johnson were nicely positioned in second as well in team roping, but no cowboys representing Wyoming colleges left with national championship trophies in front of a home crowd.

Petersek finished seventh overall in the country in tie down roping, and the Johnson brothers, who entered the night as the defending team roping national champions, fell to ninth place. Fellow Thunderbird team roping duo Nevada Berquist and Braden Brost finished right behind them in 10th place.

Myles Carlson, who was also representing Casper College, finished in 11th place after posting a no score on his final trip in the bareback ride. The no score came after Carlson was unable to hold on for the final moment, and he tumbled off his horse, Under Fire, doing a front flip.

Laramie County Community College’s Sage Miller was unable to post a score in his final go in the saddle bronc, and the Golden Eagle fell to 10th place after starting the night in eight.

University of Wyoming’s Brice Patterson posted his best ride of the week in the bareback, which established him as the seventh-best bareback rider in the country. His 81.5 ride tied for the second-best score of the short round, and it helped send a jolt of energy through the crowd early on in the festivities.

Austin Hurlburt, another UW Cowboy, entered the night in fourth place in the steer wrestling, but when Hurlburt leaped towards the calf like Chad Muma trying to tackle a Colorado State Ram, it was too heavy of a pursuit. The calf stopped short and was able to maneuver his way out of the grasp of Hurlburt.

The no score placed Hurlburt 10th overall in the country in steer wrestling.

There was still plenty of drama to play out inside the Ford Wyoming Center. Missouri Valley College’s Cole Franks entered the evening as the reigning bareback national champion, but Ty Pope, Franks’ teammate, was able to best him in the short round with an 85, the best score of the week, to claim the 2022 national title.

In the saddle bronc ride, McNeese State’s Shea Fournier was also able to beat out his teammate. Ryder Sanford entered the top rider in the event, but he posted a no score on his final trip.

Tarleton State’s Walt Arnold, Texas A&M-Commerce’s Bryana Lehrmann and Panola College’s Kincade Henry were the only competitors who were able to hold their lead entering the evening. Arnold left a dual champion in steer wrestling, and Tarleton State was able to secure enough points to win the men’s team championship. Lehrman left the national champion in breakaway roping and the women’s all-around.

All individual and team champions are listed below.

2022 Individual Champions

Bareback Riding: Ty Pope, Missouri Valley College

Tie Down Roping: Kincade Henry, Panola College

Breakaway Roping: Bryana Lehrmann, Texas A&M-Commerce University

Saddle Bronc Riding: Shea Fournier, McNeese State University

Steer Wrestling: Walt Arnold, Tarleton State University

Goat Tying: Co-Champions Maddee Doerr, Cochise College and Kamryn Duncan, McNeese State

Team Roping: Riley Kittle, Cisco College and Jace Helton, Weatherford College

Barrel Racing: Sadie Wolaver, Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Bull Riding: Casey Roberts, Three Rivers College

Men’s All-Around: Cole Walker, University of Tennessee-Martin

Women’s All-Around: Bryana Lehrmann, Texas A&M-Commerce University

2022 Team Champions

Men’s: Tarleton State University

Women’s: Weatherford College

For more detailed results from all of the College National Finals Rodeo, visit here.

Copyright 2022 Wyoming News Now. All rights reserved.