Advertisement

USDA Forest Service Announces Fall Fire Hire Event

(KGWN)
Published: Aug. 25, 2021 at 4:12 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CHEYENNE, Wyo. (Wyoming News Now) - The USDA Forest Service’s Rocky Mountain Region is hosting a Fall Fire Hire event to fill approximately 100 wildland fire jobs including Engine, Hotshot, Helitack, Handcrew and Fuels positions. The hiring process will be expedited using Direct Hire Authority with vacancies filled in the fall of 2021. All who are interested in pursuing an exciting and fulfilling career in wildland fire management are encouraged to apply.

Positions to be filled are entry-level to supervisory forestry aid positions in the job series 0462, ranging in pay grade from 03 to 06, commonly known as GS-0462-03 - GS-0462-06. Tours of duty will range from permanent seasonal to permanent full-time. Duty locations will be announced, with the majority of these positions being within the Rocky Mountain Region, which includes Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming.

Current job openings are available online. The vacancy announcements will be posted on the U.S. Government’s official website for employment opportunities at USAJOBS beginning on August 27, 2021. Applications must be submitted by 9:59 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time on the closing date of the announcement.

Several helpful, recorded webinars are available on the Teams website, including Tips for Job Seekers, How to Write a Federal Resume, Hiring Qualifications & Eligibilities, and Navigating USAJOBS.gov. Note that you may be prompted to download the free Microsoft Teams application.

Basic training will be provided to all new hires. Those applying for higher-level positions must meet Interagency Fire Program Management (IFPM) and Forest Service – Fire Program Management (FS-FPM) qualifications before the closing date and a current Incident Qualifications and Certification (IQCS) Master Record or other documentation will be required for these positions. For more information, please contact the Forest Service office at your location of interest and ask to be directed to the fire management organization.

Forest Specific Contact Information:

Arapaho/Roosevelt National Forests and Pawnee National Grassland

Supervisor’s Office: Ft. Collins, CO

http://www.fs.usda.gov/arp

Contact Information: Mark Mendonca, Deputy Fire Staff Officer, myron.mendonca@usda.gov

Bighorn National Forest

Supervisor’s Office: Sheridan, WY

http://www.fs.usda.gov/bighorn

Contact Information: Jon Warder, Forest Fire Management Officer, jon.warder@usda.gov

Black Hills National Forest

Supervisor’s Office: Custer, SD

http://www.fs.usda.gov/blackhills

Contact Information: Jared Hohn, Deputy Fire Staff Officer, jared.j.hohn@usda.gov

Grand Mesa, Uncompahgre and Gunnison National Forests

Supervisor’s Office: Delta, CO

http://www.fs.usda.gov/gmug

Contact Information: CorDell Taylor, Fire Staff Officer, cordell.taylor@usda.gov

Medicine Bow/Routt National Forests, Thunder Basin National Grasslands (MBRTB)

Supervisor’s Office: Laramie, WY

http://www.fs.usda.gov/mbr

Contact Information: Jeramy Dietz, Deputy Fire Staff Officer, jeramy.dietz@usda.gov

Nebraska National Forest and Grasslands

Supervisor’s Office: Chadron, NE

http://www.fs.usda.gov/nebraska

Contact Information: Mark Redfox, Assistant Forest Fire Management Officer, adriel.redfox@usda.gov

Pike/San Isabel National Forests, Cimarron/Comanche National Grasslands (PSICC)

Supervisor’s Office: Pueblo, CO

http://www.fs.usda.gov/psicc

Contact Information: Paul Delmerico, Deputy Fire Staff Officer, paul.delmerico@usda.gov

Rio Grande National Forest

Supervisor’s Office: Monte Vista, CO

http://www.fs.usda.gov/riogrande

Contact Information: Derrick Rader, Asst. Forest Fire Management Officer, derrick.rader@usda.gov

San Juan National Forest

Supervisor’s Office: Durango, CO

http://www.fs.usda.gov/sanjuan

Contact Information: Richard Bustamante, Fire Staff Officer, richard.bustamante@usda.gov

Shoshone National Forest

Supervisor’s Office: Cody, WY

http://www.fs.usda.gov/shoshone

Contact Information: Clint Dawson, Deputy Fire/Aviation Staff Officer, clint.dawson@usda.gov

White River National Forest/Upper Colorado Fire Management Unit

Supervisor’s Office: Glenwood Springs, CO

http://www.fs.usda.gov/whiteriver

Contact Information:

Justin Conrad, East Zone Fire Management Officer, justin.conrad@usda.gov

Jim Genung, Central Zone Fire Management Officer, james.genung@usda.gov

Copyright 2021 Wyoming News Now. All rights reserved.