Four Cowboys Earn Big 12 All-Academic Honors

Press Release: Courtesy University of Wyoming Athletics
Published: Apr. 2, 2021 at 6:50 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CHEYENNE, Wyo. (Wyoming News Now) - Three Wyoming Cowboy wrestlers earned first-team Big 12 All-Academic honors while one additional Poke earned second team honors, as announced by the league office on Thursday afternoon.

The trio of Tate Samuelson, Nate Moore and Darrick Stacey were all named All-Academic first team for the 2020-21 season. Both Samuelson and Stacey competed at numerous events for the Cowboys, including the Big 12 Championships. Moore appeared for the Cowboys this season in a reserve role. To be eligible for first Team honors a student-athlete must maintain a 3.20 grade point average.

Additionally, Jacob Svihel was named to the Big 12 All-Academic second team this season.  He competed in three competitions for the Cowboys.

Copyright 2021 Wyoming News Now. All rights reserved.