Cowboys announce team captains for 2020 football season

Published: Oct. 18, 2020 at 8:00 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CHEYENNE, Wyo. (Wyoming News Now) - Wyoming football selected Sean Chambers, Garrett Crall, Chad Muma, and Keegan Cryder as team captains for the 2020 football season.

This is the second consecutive season the sophomore quarterback Chambers has been selected team captain. He appeared and started in eight games last season before suffering a season-ending injury. Chambers led the Pokes in passing with 915 yards through the air, and seven touchdowns, and was second in rushing with 567 yards (6.3 yards per carry) and 10 rushing TD’s.

Crall enters his senior season off his best season with the program last year, recording 55 total tackles, six tackles for loss, and 4.5 sacks, ranking second.

Junior center and guard Keegan Cryder earned second team all-mountain west honors last season, playing over 800 snaps, and led the pokes with over 100 knockdown blocks. Ahead of this season, he was named to the 2020 Remington trophy watch list, which highlights the premiere centers in the FBS.

But the one who is going to have big shoes to fill is junior linebacker, Chad Muma. He appeared in all 13 games last season, recording 51 total tackles, three tackles for loss, and a sack. After losing Logan Wilson and Caash Malula to the draft, the Cowboys are turning to Muma as the leader of the linebacker core.

Wyoming will face Nevada on the road for the season opener. The game is scheduled for Saturday, October 24, at 5:00pm MDT.

Copyright 2020 Wyoming News Now. All rights reserved.